Domain Name Lawyers

Offers experienced attorneys who understand Internet law and technological issues. Make Domain Name Lawyers part of your Internet team.

Contact Domain Name Lawyers Today

       

Opens in Pop-up window

Domain Name Lawyers

700 - 12th Street, NW Suite 700
Washington, D.C. 20005-3945

Placeholder Image

Domain Name Disputes

Below we provide a quick rundown of some better known domain name disputes. Remember, Domain Name Lawyers works for the best outcome for their clients for the least amount of cost and risk.

  • CandyLand.com  - Hasbro Inc. is the maker of a child’s game called Candyland. An adult entertainment site first registered the domain name http://www.candyland.com Understandable, Hasbro fought to acquire the domain name, fearing their young consumers might end up at an inappropriate site which might tarnish Hasbro’s name.

  • DellWebDesigns.com - Paul Dell registered DellWebDesigns.com and was sued by Dell Computers. Paul lives in Spain and operates a web design business. He registered the domain name in 2001. In 2002 Dell Computers contacted Paul and claimed rights to the domain name.

  • McDonalds.com - An author at Wired.com, writing an article about the value of domain names purchased this domain name and asked for suggestions on what to do with it. McDonalds agreed to make a charitable contribution and was given the domain name registration.

  • Micros0ft.com - Originally registered by a company names Zero Micro Software. Microsoft filed a protest and the registration was suspended. Eventually the domain name registration expired and Vision Enterprises of Roanoke, TX picked up the registration. The registration expires in December 2007 and is listed as “Client Renewal Prohibited”.


  • mtv.com – An employee registered the domain name originally. MTV showed no interest until the employee was going to leave the company; at which time MTV wanted to control the domain name and sued in Federal Court. Registration was settled out of court for an undisclosed amount.


  • Nissan.com – Nissan Motors sued Nissan Computers for control of the domain name Nissan.com in 2005. Nissan Computers is run by Uzi Nissan. In 1994 he incorporated his company (which had been doing business using Nissan since the 1980’s when Nissan Motors was still Datsun) and registered the domain name Nissan.com. In 1995 he received a letter for Nissan Motors just inquiring about his use of Nissan.com. In the same month he obtained a service mark registration for Nissan Computers. In 1999 Nissan Motors finally used Nissan Computers for $10,000,000.00. In 2002 Nissan Computers won the right to keep the domain name registration but was severely restricted in its use. In August 2004 this restriction was lifted by an appellate court. Nissan Motors has appealed up to the USA Supreme Court but was not granted a "Writ of Certiorari".

  • Peta.org – This domain name was registered by someone providing a parody to the organization known as PETA (People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals). In the case of the domain name, “PETA” was purported to stand for “People Eating Tasty Animals”. Eventually a judge award Peta.org to People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals. Though PETA itself was not without controversy; the organization registered RinglingBrothers.com and used it to accuse Ringling Brothers of unethical treatment of circus elephants. Ringling Brothers sued and PETA turned over the domain name with the agreement that Ringling Brothers would drop its suit.

  • roadrunner.com – A Santa Fe, New Mexico Internet access provider (named RoadRunner Computer Systems) ended up with control of the domain name. NSI threatened to suspend the registration based on a complaint from Warner Brothers and the access provider sued to prevent the suspension. Eventually through settlement (no details provided) Time Warner ended up with control of the domain name.

  • Wired.net – This domain name dispute was between Wired Magazine (who registered wired.com) and Women’s Wired (who registered wired.net). Wired magazine sent notice to Women’s Wired that wired.net infringed on their trademark. The two companies reached some type of amicable agreement and Women’s Wired now operates under WWired.com